What are the 7 stages of clay?

The journey of clay from its raw form to a finished ceramic piece involves a series of distinct stages. These stages, often referred to as the “7 stages of clay,” outline the progression of clay through its various states.

1. Slip

Slip is the initial stage of clay, where it is in a liquid, creamy consistency. Slip is often used for casting, joining clay pieces, and creating surface decoration.

2. Plastic

At the plastic stage, clay is soft, pliable, and easily moldable. It can be shaped, sculpted, and manipulated using various techniques.

3. Leather Hard

Clay in the leather hard stage has partially dried and is firm but still retains some moisture. It is ideal for carving, attaching handles, and adding intricate details.

4. Bone Dry

Bone dry clay is completely air-dried and ready for firing. It is fragile and requires careful handling to avoid cracks and breakage.

5. Bisqueware

Bisqueware is clay that has been fired once at a low temperature. It is porous and ready for glazing.

6. Glazeware

Glazeware is clay that has been glazed with decorative and functional coatings. It is ready for its final firing.

7. Finished Ceramic

The last stage is the finished ceramic piece, achieved after the final firing. It is durable, permanent, and can be used for its intended purpose.


The 7 stages of clay provide a comprehensive framework for understanding the transformation of clay from its initial slip form to a beautiful finished ceramic creation.

Rate article
Add a comment